Kansas CLE Requirements: Kansas CLE requires attorneys to complete 12 credits, including 2 credits of ethics, every year by June 30. Attorneys are limited to 6 credits of prerecorded programs per year. Credits must be reported by July 31. A maximum of 10 excess credits from live programs only may be carried over to the next reporting period. Credits earned via prerecorded programs cannot be carried over into the next compliance period. Ethics credits carry over as general credits. Teaching, authorship, or law practice management credits cannot be carried over. Law practice management credit is limited to a maximum of 2 credits in any compliance period. For additional information, please see the FAQ page on the Kansas CLE website.
NEW! The Kansas Supreme Court has amended the Rules Relating to Continuing Legal Education effective June 1st, 2021. The Prerecorded Program Limitation, formerly Rule 8807(i), which stated that no more than six CLE credit hours will be applied toward the annual CLE requirement for an attorney in any compliance period for attendance at or participating in a prerecorded program, has been removed.
Coronavirus update: The Kansas Supreme Court issued an Administrative Order to extend the modifications to temporarily waive the limitation on prerecorded programming through June 30, 2022. Please see the link to the Administrative Order filed on April 7, 2021. Applications for prerecorded programs for more than 6 hours will be considered for credit through June 30, 2022.
The Kansas Supreme Court also issued an Administrative Order to extend the modifications to temporarily waive the limitation on prerecorded programming through June 30, 2021. Here is the link to the Administrative Order filed on September 4, 2020. Applications for prerecorded programs for more than 6 hours will be considered for credit through June 30, 2021.
The Kansas Supreme Court had previously issued an order extending until September 30, 2020, the reporting deadline for continuing legal education that is required by Supreme Court rule to be completed between July 1, 2019, and June 30, 2020. An attorney unable to complete the education within the compliance period is automatically granted an extension until September 30.
The order also waives a limit on continuing education hours delivered by prerecorded programs.
Learn about the specific requirements for newly-admitted Kansas attorneys.
Completing Your Kansas Requirements with PLI: PLI and SEC Institute's live seminars, live webcasts, and co-sponsored locations qualify as "live" credit. There is no limit to the number of credits an attorney can earn via live programs. View live CLE programs approved in Kansas.
PLI and SEC Institute's on-demand programs, MP3s and MP4s qualify as "prerecorded" credit. Attorneys are limited to 6 credits of prerecorded programs per year. View prerecorded CLE programs approved in Kansas.
Providers are required to submit applications to Kansas CLE for each program.
Attendance Reporting: PLI reports attendance to Kansas CLE for all PLI formats.