Practising Law Institute
 is a nonprofit learning organization dedicated to keeping attorneys and other professionals at the forefront of knowledge and expertise. PLI is chartered by the Regents of the University of the State of New York, and was founded in 1933 by Harold P. Seligson. The organization provides the highest quality, accredited, continuing legal and professional education programs in a variety of formats which are delivered by more than 4,000 volunteer faculty including prominent lawyers, judges, investment bankers, accountants, corporate counsel, and U.S. and international government regulators. PLI publishes a comprehensive library of Treatises, Course Handbooks, Answer Books and Journals also available through the PLI PLUS online platform. The essence of PLI’s mission is a commitment to the pro bono community and has had over 98,000 attendees at our pro bono programs this past year. 


PLI Mission Statement

Practising Law Institute (“PLI”) is a nonprofit learning organization dedicated to keeping attorneys and professionals at the forefront of knowledge and expertise, as well as preparing them to fulfill their pro bono responsibilities.

View Our 2017 Annual Report 


PLI Management Team


Anita C. Shapiro, President, 212.824.5701

Alan G. Cohen, Chief Business Officer, 212.824.5795

Frank DeVivo, Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer, 212.824.5709 

Kara L. O’Brien, Esq., Vice President, Programs, 212.824.5852 

Ellen Siegel, Vice President, Print and Digital Publishing, 212.824.5761

David Smith, Vice President, Marketing and Communications, 212.590.8838

Craig Miller, Vice President, Membership, 212.590.8839

Joan Sternberg, Vice President of Human Resources, 212.824.5764

Christopher Rousseau, Chief Information Officer, 212.824.5878



Board of Trustees


Samuel W. Seymour
Chair of the Board 
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
New York, NY 

Hon. Angela M. Mazzarelli
Vice Chair
Supreme Court, Appellate Division
First Department
New York, NY 


Carol Anne Been
Dentons US LLP
Chicago, IL

Philip Bryce
Mayer Brown LLP
Chicago, IL

Devereux Chatillon
Chatillon Weiss LLP
New York, NY

Dean Ellen M. Cosgrove
Associate Dean
Yale Law School
New Haven, CT

Adrian E. Dollard
Katerincon Partners, LLC
San Francisco, CA

Pierre M. Gentin
McKinsey & Company
New York, NY

Hon. William F. Kuntz, II
United States District Judge
Eastern District of New York
Brooklyn, NY

Mei Lin Kwan-Gett
Deputy General Counsel
New York, NY

Carmen J. Lawrence
King & Spalding LLP
New York, NY

Hon. Marc Marmaro (Ret.)
Benchmark Resolution Group
Los Angeles, CA

Troy A. McKenzie
Professor of Law
NYU School of Law
New York, NY

Tiffany Moller
Pallas Global, LLC
New York, NY

Frederick P. Schaffer
New York City Campaign Finance Board
New York, NY

John S. Siffert
Lankler Siffert & Wohl LLP
New York, NY

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong
United States Bankruptcy Court
Eastern District of New York
Brooklyn, NY

Gregory C. Swinehart
Deloitte Financial Advisory Services LLP
New York, NY

John W. White
Cravath, Swaine & Moore
New York, NY