What People are Saying about PLI's Course


  • I used multiple sources for studying and I must say, the PLI material provided insight on a completely different level. I would definitely recommend the course to anybody who wants to not only just pass the exam, but be good attorneys/agents. – Anup Shrinivasan, Masters in EE, University of Virginia; Patent Engineer, Moore & Van Allen; passed May 2014

    “I passed the exam yesterday. The supplement material definitely helped bolster my understanding of the new rules. I used multiple sources for studying and I must say, the PLI material provided insight on a completely different level. I would definitely recommend the course to anybody who wants to not only just pass the exam, but be good attorneys/agents.” – Anup Shrinivasan, Masters in EE, University of Virginia; Patent Engineer, Moore & Van Allen; passed May 2014

  • I would thoroughly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review to anyone committed to passing the USPTO registration exam as quickly and efficiently as possible. – Neil J. Young, Ph.D., DuPont Pioneer; passed May 2014

    “I passed at my first attempt, having attended the live Review course in Chicago March 2014. I don’t think I would have been successful without the combination of classroom lectures, comprehensive training materials, and online access to Patware for focused revision. I would thoroughly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review to anyone committed to passing the USPTO registration exam as quickly and efficiently as possible.” – Neil J. Young, Ph.D., DuPont Pioneer; passed May 2014

  • I wanted to let you know that I passed the registration exam on my first attempt and would like to thank …PLI… for providing a great course….. – Leonard Rosenfeld, Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering; passed May 2014

    “I wanted to let you know that I passed the registration exam on my first attempt and would like to thank …PLI… for providing a great course….. The advice that John White and Gene Quinn gave on studying on the order of 150 hours in addition to the course was also spot on. I found that after about the 100 hour mark. the many pieces started coming together and I began to have the familiarity with the MPEP to use it effectively on the exam.” – Leonard Rosenfeld, Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering; passed May 2014

  • [...] I wouldn't have passed without attending PLI so just wanted to thank you. Although I didn't realize it at the time, Patware played a significant part.[...] – Rajeev Sreetharan, Tulane Law School; passed April 2014

    "I attended the Chicago Patent Bar Review in March, studied for 3-4 weeks, took it, and found out I passed last week. It was hard, but it’s behind me now. I wouldn't have passed without attending PLI so just wanted to thank you. Although I didn't realize it at the time, Patware played a significant part. Patware helped cultivate familiarity with the testing environment, so on exam day, it felt like I was at home on my laptop." – Rajeev Sreetharan, Tulane Law School; passed April 2014

  • I wanted to let you know that I took the Patent Bar on March 17 and passed on my first attempt! The PLI course was absolutely critical to my success. – Robert J. Dilk, 2L, Arizona State University College of Law; passed March 2014

    "I wanted to let you know that I took the Patent Bar on March 17 and passed on my first attempt! The PLI course was absolutely critical to my success... Furthermore, I will be utilizing PLI in the future for all my continuing education needs and to maintain current with exciting developments in my field." – Robert J. Dilk, 2L, Arizona State University College of Law; passed March 2014

  • I managed to pass the exam this morning. Thanks for extending my account for so long. I could not do it without Patware. – Alex Au, Esq.; Passed February 2014

    "I managed to pass the exam this morning. Thanks for extending my account for so long. I could not do it without Patware. I kept doing it until I got over 70% on every exam. Not only did Patware provide me with the knowledge, but it also gave me a very accurate measurement of my ability to pass the real exam." – Alex Au, Esq.; Passed February 2014

  • Just a quick follow-up to say that I took the registration exam today and... I passed. Thanks for preparing a very helpful, up to date, and informative course. [...] - Mitchell Greggs, Maynard Cooper & Gale, PC; Passed February 2014

    "Just a quick follow-up to say that I took the registration exam today and... I passed. Thanks for preparing a very helpful, up to date, and informative course. Between the live course and the online components, you... provided the tools that I needed to go into the exam feeling as prepared as possible, even in light of the recent changes to the testable materials.” - Mitchell Greggs, Maynard Cooper & Gale, PC; Passed February 2014

  • I found PLI's lecture and PatWare materials to be indispensable in my studying for the patent bar. [...] I'd definitely recommend PLI to any prospective patent bar taker! – Brian Auerbach, Esq., Muskin & Farmer; passed February 2014

    "I found PLI's lecture and PatWare materials to be indispensable in my studying for the patent bar. With so much information to learn, PLI's teaching method laid out the material in an easy to understand manner, while its support materials continued to reinforce the law and skills that I was required to know for the long test. I'd definitely recommend PLI to any prospective patent bar taker!" – Brian Auerbach, Esq., Muskin & Farmer; passed February 2014

  • [...] The Live course did an excellent job of exposing me to patent law for the first time. The online course materials really helped me hone my test-taking skills. I would not have passed if it wasn’t for PLI Patent Bar Review! - Trent McKenzie, Patent Agent, Moore & Van Allen, PLLC; passed February 2014

    "The PLI Patent Bar Review course was an integral piece of my preparation. The Live course did an excellent job of exposing me to patent law for the first time. The online course materials really helped me hone my test-taking skills. I would not have passed if it wasn’t for PLI Patent Bar Review!" - Trent McKenzie, Patent Agent, Moore & Van Allen, PLLC; passed February 2014

  • [...] After taking the PLI course and studying for another two months, I passed the patent bar! Thank you PLI! I would highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review course to anyone considering taking the patent bar. - Ashley R. Sloat, Ph.D., Intellectual Property Consultant; passed February 2014

    "The PLI Patent Bar Review course was extremely helpful in preparing for the patent bar. Prior to taking the course, I had some basic knowledge of the patent system and novelty and obviousness. However, the PLI course definitely took my knowledge to the next level and beyond. The intensive five day program covered a wide breadth of topics in enough detail to provide a strong foundation. The instructors were knowledgeable and witty, making the long days seem a little shorter. After taking the PLI course and studying for another two months, I passed the patent bar! Thank you PLI! I would highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review course to anyone considering taking the patent bar." - Ashley R. Sloat, Ph.D., Intellectual Property Consultant; passed February 2014

  • I studied for the patent bar exam through PLI for just under three months, while also having a full-time job. [...] This investment was well worth it. Many thanks for all the help! - Pervin R. Taleyarkhan, J.D., Purdue Research Foundation, Office of Technology Commercialization; passed February 2014

    "I studied for the patent bar exam through PLI for just under three months, while also having a full-time job. If you stick with it, PLI’s structured home-study course syllabus is doable and their regularly assigned tests of my knowledge of the topics (along with the detailed reviews from the instructors) helped tremendously. I have since taken and passed the patent bar exam, but I still regularly refer to the detailed course materials for guidance as I embark on my career as a patent attorney. This investment was well worth it. Many thanks for all the help!" - Pervin R. Taleyarkhan, J.D., Purdue Research Foundation, Office of Technology Commercialization; passed February 2014

  • I wanted to let you know that I passed the exam last Saturday on my first attempt. I really wanted to thank you for answering my questions diligently and for the style of the lectures. - Mark Drew, Ph.D; passed February 2014

    "I wanted to let you know that I passed the exam last Saturday on my first attempt. I really wanted to thank you for answering my questions diligently and for the style of the lectures. I appreciated the subtle humour and the reassurance in John’s delivery... I have nothing but positive comments about the entire PLI experience. Initially I kicked myself for studying during such a transformative time for patent law (introduction of the AIA), but I felt I was well prepared for any question that I may have faced and in retrospect am glad that I learned it along with the old law, as I felt this helped align the changes better in my own understanding." - Mark Drew, Ph.D; passed February 2014

  • I was apprehensive about the January 24, 2014 updates, but PLI's personal guidance and on-point supplementary materials gave me the confidence and knowledge to pass. - Joy Robinson, Esq., Comerford Law Office; Passed February 2014

    "I was apprehensive about the January 24, 2014 updates, but PLI's personal guidance and on-point supplementary materials gave me the confidence and knowledge to pass." - Joy Robinson, Esq., Comerford Law Office; Passed February 2014

  • I took the registration exam today and... passed. Thanks for preparing a very helpful, up to date, and informative course. Between the live course and the online components, you... provided the tools that I needed to go into the exam feeling as prepared as possible [...]. – Mitchell Gregg, Esq.; Passed February 2014

    "I took the registration exam today and... passed. Thanks for preparing a very helpful, up to date, and informative course. Between the live course and the online components, you... provided the tools that I needed to go into the exam feeling as prepared as possible, even in light of the recent changes to the testable materials." – Mitchell Gregg, Esq.; Passed February 2014

  • I can confidently say that the PLI Patent Bar Review course helped me pass the patent bar even though I didn't have as much time for review as I would have liked. - Rene Mai, University of Texas; Passed January 2014

    "I can confidently say that the PLI Patent Bar Review course helped me pass the patent bar even though I didn't have as much time for review as I would have liked. The AIA supplements were invaluable because they kept all the information that I would be tested on in one place, with no worries that I missed one. The lectures were never boring, too, which is a bigger benefit than most people would believe. You could just try and buy the materials secondhand, but you'd be missing out on the repetition and reinforcement given in the lectures, as well as the AIA supplements and many practice exercises that help you learn to associate certain concepts with the proper MPEP chapter, which saves valuable time on the Patent Bar." - Rene Mai, University of Texas; Passed January 2014

  • I previously studied with [a different course] and found their organization and content to be... lacking. [...] PLI organized the material in a logical and procedural manner [...] - Steve Allhoff, Esq., Wilson Ham and Holman, LLP; passed January 2014

    "I previously studied with [a different course] and found their organization and content to be... lacking. I had the opportunity to also study with PLI and found the difference to be night and day. Where the organization was forced, PLI organized the material in a logical and procedural manner that helped promote integration of the material into my practice while I was learning and to quickly create a complete view of the patent law landscape as well as how to find the information on test day if I couldn't remember it. Where the [other course’s] content was simply presented without any relation to the exam, PLI provided emphasis when content was likely to be tested and gave excellent examples for how it would be tested. Most of all I was impressed by the ability of Mr. White and Mr. Quinn to keep me engaged in their lectures. The quality of the presentation of the information is by far what sets PLI apart. Both the lectures and the handout material were easy to follow and study. Overall, I found the experience to be as neatly presented and organized... and extremely complete in the information that was covered. I highly recommend PLI." - Steve Allhoff, Esq., Wilson Ham and Holman, LLP; passed January 2014

  • PLI's Patent Bar Review was fantastic. The lectures, practice exercises, and thorough coverage of both the old and new laws and rules prepared me for passing the exam on my first try. [...] - Zuha S, Irfan, Patents Group Support Specialist, Nixon Peabody, LLP and J.D. Candidate (2014), DePaul University College of Law; homestudy course; passed January 2014

    "PLI's Patent Bar Review was fantastic. The lectures, practice exercises, and thorough coverage of both the old and new laws and rules prepared me for passing the exam on my first try. PLI's continuous adjustments of the course content and materials to reflect ongoing changes in the patent world ensured that course registrants were equipped with the most accurate and up-to-date information. Patware was particularly useful - my experience with the software made me feel relaxed and familiar with the exam on exam day." - Zuha S, Irfan, Patents Group Support Specialist, Nixon Peabody, LLP and J.D. Candidate (2014), DePaul University College of Law; homestudy course; passed January 2014

  • [...] Thanks to the PLI course, I was able to pass the exam the first time, making it well worth the investment! – Andrew Harrington, Lewis & Clark Law School; passed November 2013

    “I want to offer a sincere thank you to John White and Gene Quinn for a well-organized, extremely helpful review course. Like Obi-Wan Kenobi’s ‘Use the Force, Luke,’ I could almost hear their voices as I was taking the exam. What do you need to get a filing date? I could almost hear John say, ‘Spec, claim, drawing.’ Acceptable multiple dependent claim language? I could almost hear Gene imploring me to look at 608.01(n). Thanks to the PLI course, I was able to pass the exam the first time, making it well worth the investment!” – Andrew Harrington, Lewis & Clark Law School; passed November 2013

  • "PLI is a mandatory purchase to pass the Patent Bar because the test has changed and released tests are no longer helpful. I tried passing the Patent Bar on my own twice. [...] I got the same score twice: 62. I took PLI and passed on my next attempt. [...] If you want to pass, you need PLI. It's that simple." - James Cole; Passed November 2013.

    "PLI is a mandatory purchase to pass the Patent Bar because the test has changed and released tests are no longer helpful. I tried passing the Patent Bar on my own twice. Believe me, I tried everything. I did every released test several times, tracking my progress, and studying the law in depth as well. I got the same score twice: 62. I took PLI and passed on my next attempt. This test is harder than anything you've ever taken. There is no way to overstate its difficulty. The Patent Bar is a different animal, no matter how smart you are. If you want to pass, you need PLI. It's that simple." - James Cole; Passed November 2013.

  • I took the patent bar review course this September and passed the exam on the first try. [...] The PBR provided me much information and preparation I needed... The program as a whole was a super preparation course, probably the best I have ever taken to date (including BarBri and Kaplan). [...] - TaeRa Franklin; passed September 2013

    "I took the patent bar review course this September and passed the exam on the first try. I am truly grateful to John and Gene and the team who put together the study materials and Patware. The PBR provided me much information and preparation I needed... The program as a whole was a super preparation course, probably the best I have ever taken to date (including BarBri and Kaplan). I wholeheartedly recommend this course for anyone who plans to take the patent bar exam. If you can follow the guidance of John and Gene and put the time and effort for it, you will pass the exam. It is an extremely difficult exam, I must admit, and one would be wise to take PBR if he is serious about passing it.” - TaeRa Franklin; passed September 2013

  • This course was amazing – more of a boot camp than a course. I’m very grateful. I started with no knowledge, and am now very comfortable – and inspired. – Maria Dipola, Civil Engineer; live course DC January 2014

    “This course was amazing – more of a boot camp than a course. I’m very grateful. I started with no knowledge, and am now very comfortable – and inspired.” – Maria Dipola, Civil Engineer; live course DC January 2014

  • As a woman in engineering, I felt a little out of place. As an engineer in law school, I still felt out of place. I came to the PLI course and realized there aren’t that many of us and that’s a good thing. The PLI group helps you get through a really hard test and helps you find your geeky place in life. – Kelsey Grace, University of Baltimore School of Law; live course DC January 2014

    "As a woman in engineering, I felt a little out of place. As an engineer in law school, I still felt out of place. I came to the PLI course and realized there aren’t that many of us and that’s a good thing. The PLI group helps you get through a really hard test and helps you find your geeky place in life." – Kelsey Grace, University of Baltimore School of Law; live course DC January 2014

  • I would recommend this course for anyone serious about learning quickly. For starters, it’s total immersion. Second, you get the benefit of asking direction questions and learning from your fellow students’ questions as well. – Kent Jordan, Attorney, King & Spalding; live course San Francisco November 2013

    “I would recommend this course for anyone serious about learning quickly. For starters, it’s total immersion. Second, you get the benefit of asking direction questions and learning from your fellow students’ questions as well.” – Kent Jordan, Attorney, King & Spalding; live course San Francisco November 2013

  • I highly recommend the live course for the constant reinforcement of what’s most important to study and being tested, and for the in depth knowledge and expertise of speakers John White and Gene Quinn. – Linda Bucsay Welsh, Patent Technical Advisor, Intel Corp.; live course San Francisco November 2013

    “I highly recommend the live course for the constant reinforcement of what’s most important to study and being tested, and for the in depth knowledge and expertise of speakers John White and Gene Quinn.” – Linda Bucsay Welsh, Patent Technical Advisor, Intel Corp.; live course San Francisco November 2013

  • This course’s comprehensive approach to Patent Bar preparation is just what I needed to put me on track to pass the test in January 2014. – Pamela Rivera, Thomas Jefferson School of Law; live course San Francisco November 2013

    “This course’s comprehensive approach to Patent Bar preparation is just what I needed to put me on track to pass the test in January 2014.” – Pamela Rivera, Thomas Jefferson School of Law; live course San Francisco November 2013

  • I would recommend the PLI Patent Bar course for anyone seeking to take the newly updated patent bar exam. – Craig D. Boyle, PhD in Organic Chemistry, Jones Day IP Legal Intern, Fordham University School of Law; passed August 2013

    "The PLI Patent Bar course was instrumental in my recent passing of the patent bar exam. John White and Gene Quinn gave informative and entertaining presentations both in class and online. Their insights regarding examination questions and new subject matter in connection with the AIA, oath and declarations, third party submissions, and post-grant examination procedures were particularly helpful. I would recommend the PLI Patent Bar course for anyone seeking to take the newly updated patent bar exam." – Craig D. Boyle, PhD in Organic Chemistry, Jones Day IP Legal Intern, Fordham University School of Law; passed August 2013

  • If you want to pass the updated Patent Bar Examination, definitely take PLI’s Patent Bar Review and use every resource offered through this amazing program. – Kelly Lusk, attorney; Marger Johnson & McCollom, P.C; passed July 2013

    “I passed the patent bar on my first try in July 2013 following the AIA changes to the examination. The PLI course was key to my passing the bar following the changes. I work as a litigator and had a two-month old baby at the time. The best resource made available through PLI was John White. If I had a question regarding the AIA updates to the exam, I would send an email and Mr. White quickly would clear up any confusion. PLI provides all the information that you need to pass: pre-AIA law, post-AIA law and plenty of practice questions for both. If you want to pass the updated Patent Bar Examination, definitely take PLI’s Patent Bar Review and use every resource offered through this amazing program.” – Kelly Lusk, attorney; Marger Johnson & McCollom, P.C; passed July 2013

  • I took the registration exam today and passed! I wanted to thank you for all the work that you and your colleagues did to put such a great course together. – Norbert Lazar, incoming 1L, University of Pittsburgh School of Law; passed August 2013

    “I took the registration exam today and passed! I wanted to thank you for all the work that you and your colleagues did to put such a great course together. I'd also like to thank you for helping me with some of the specific questions I had. I followed a number of your study suggestions and felt very prepared going into the exam. I start law school soon and I'm sure I'll resort to PLI again in the future as I continue to advance in my legal career. Thanks again!” – Norbert Lazar, incoming 1L, University of Pittsburgh School of Law; passed August 2013

  • With the understanding and professional support by PLI management and the expert teaching skills of John White and Gene Quinn, I did pass the exam in June 2013... – Fred Martin, MSEE; passed June 2013

    “Due to personal complications, it took me several tries to pass. But PLI made it easy for me to repeat the classes, which refreshed and updated my knowledge, until such time that I was able to continuously focus on the study. With the understanding and professional support by PLI management and the expert teaching skills of John White and Gene Quinn, I did pass the exam in June 2013, even with the complications of the new AIA questions. I am turning 65 on August 20th, so PLI’s course is for students of all ages.” – Fred Martin, MSEE; passed June 2013

  • PLI does an excellent job of guiding one through the entire process, start to finish, scheduling for you what to study and when. One can chat with someone from PLI online during business hours and they were always polite and helpful to me. – Enrico Miotto, Marquette University; passed June 2013

    “PLI does an excellent job of guiding one through the entire process, start to finish, scheduling for you what to study and when. One can chat with someone from PLI online during business hours and they were always polite and helpful to me.” – Enrico Miotto, Marquette University; passed June 2013

  • [T]he PLI course was a great experience. I tried studying on my own, but there's something about being there and listening to John and Gene teach the course, that makes things a little more memorable…. It is long and intense, but it’s worth it and it helped me pass the exam. – Natalia Mattan Hung, postdoctoral research fellow; passed May 2013

    “[T]he PLI course was a great experience. I tried studying on my own, but there's something about being there and listening to John and Gene teach the course, that makes things a little more memorable…. It is long and intense, but it’s worth it and it helped me pass the exam.” – Natalia Mattan Hung, postdoctoral research fellow; passed May 2013

  • Thank you PLI so much! Preparing for the patent bar examination is such a daunting task. But all I had to do was follow the plan, and everything worked out just great! – Karthik Kumar, law student; Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner and George Washington University School of Law; passed April 2013

    “Thank you PLI so much! Preparing for the patent bar examination is such a daunting task. But all I had to do was follow the plan, and everything worked out just great!” – ­­­­­­Karthik Kumar, law student; Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner and George Washington University School of Law; passed April 2013

  • I was so pleased to pass the Patent Bar Exam on my first try, and I definitely have PLI to thank for that. – Sara Leiman, scientist, Harvard University; passed April 2013

    “I was so pleased to pass the Patent Bar Exam on my first try, and I definitely have PLI to thank for that.” – Sara Leiman, scientist, Harvard University; passed April 2013

  • The PLI course was extremely helpful, especially highlighting the new rules as various changes went into effect. – Barry Kauker, Principal Engineer; passed March 2013

    “The PLI course was extremely helpful, especially highlighting the new rules as various changes went into effect.” – Barry Kauker, Principal Engineer; passed March 2013

  • Absolutely and unquestionably worth it. – Ross Misskelley, University of Georgia Law Student; August Chicago live course

    “Absolutely and unquestionably worth it.” – Ross Misskelley, University of Georgia Law Student; August Chicago live course

  • I passed! I was so excited!! It was a party in the Prometric center. I'll be sure to recommend you guys to all of my classmates. – Ellen Cheong, law student, Washington University School of Law; passed July 2013

    “I passed! I was so excited!! I thought I was hallucinating, so the nice people at the center verified it and then we all jumped up and down together about it. Even strangers who were on their break during other tests were excited and played along. It was a party in the Prometric center. Thank you for checking in and providing an amazing course! I'm sure my patent law professor next year will be blown away - I just finished my first year, so I actually didn't know a thing about patent law until I picked up the PLI course. I'll be sure to recommend you guys to all of my classmates.” – Ellen Cheong, law student, Washington University School of Law; passed July 2013

  • Between the reading, the videos, and the homework exercises, I was able to understand the material rather than just memorizing a bunch of test answers like many other test prep programs. This program was worth every penny! – Amber Favaregh, Sr. Research Engineer, ViGYAN, Inc; passed December 2012

    “PLI Patent Bar Review provided me with the structure and insight I needed to wade through the mountains of information I needed to know in order to pass the Exam. John White's tips and pointers kept me on track and studying what I needed to know. Between the reading, the videos, and the homework exercises, I was able to understand the material rather than just memorizing a bunch of test answers like many other test prep programs. This program was worth every penny!" – Amber Favaregh, Sr. Research Engineer, ViGYAN, Inc; passed December 2012

  • Success is my goal but without a roadmap it becomes an illusion. PLI provided me with the best roadmap. – Amr Eldaka, Shook Hardy & Bacon; Atlanta live course 2013

    “Success is my goal but without a roadmap it becomes an illusion. PLI provided me with the best roadmap.” – Amr Eldaka, Shook Hardy & Bacon; Atlanta live course 2013

  • The PLI course was invaluable in my preparation to pass the patent bar...My advice to everyone that is planning to take the test is to use the PLI program. – Nathan Camuti, Chapman University School of Law; passed January 2013

    “The PLI course was invaluable in my preparation to pass the patent bar. A few factors that really contributed to my passing the test were the Prime questions, the test-condition practice in PatWare®, and (especially) the distillation of the AIA materials. The predictions of content and number of AIA questions were very accurate and definitely contributed to my passing score. PLI was able to highlight the areas likely to be tested, and their prediction was accurate. My advice to everyone that is planning to take the test is to use the PLI program.” – Nathan Camuti, Chapman University School of Law; passed January 2013

  • I’m not usually a testimonial type of person; however, I took the exam yesterday and passed on my first attempt. – Mitch Vap, Esq., Phillips Haffey PC; passed March 2013

    “I’m not usually a testimonial type of person; however, I took the exam yesterday and passed on my first attempt. I have a full time litigation practice, and I’m a full time dad. I attended the Nov. 2012 course in San Francisco, and it was exactly what I needed to get my preparation on track. The course provides exactly what you need to know for the exam in a manageable format. I simply would not have had enough time to prepare for the exam without the course. Thanks for such a great product!” – Mitch Vap, Esq., Phillips Haffey PC; passed March 2013

  • After I took the exam and passed the first time, I understood why PLI is the leader in Patent Bar preparation. I could not have passed without the great PLI Patent Bar review course, the excellent and very entertaining lectures... – Tanya S. Gaylord, Esq.; Hutchison & Steffen, LLC; Passed March 2013

    “After I took the exam and passed the first time, I understood why PLI is the leader in Patent Bar preparation. I could not have passed without the great PLI Patent Bar review course, the excellent and very entertaining lectures by John White (yes, I listened to many lectures more than once and even more than twice), and for PLI's exam software Patware®, which was crucial for my preparation! Great job, PLI, on updating us with the new materials the USPTO is testing!” – Tanya S. Gaylord, Esq.; Hutchison & Steffen, LLC; Passed March 2013

  • I thought I should let you know I passed the exam (on the first attempt!) this week. I'm so glad I took your course to prepare. – James Whittle, Ph.D. in Biology, postdoctoral fellow; passed March 2013

    “I thought I should let you know I passed the exam (on the first attempt!) this week. I'm so glad I took your course to prepare. Your advice on what to study seemed spot-on, and would have been totally non-obvious without your guidance. Just as advised, Appeals and PCT were tested heavily, much more than on the 2002/2003 sample exams. I was surprised by how much the AIA supplement on reexamination was tested. There were many questions on inter partes review and post-grant review, which required a detailed understanding of the rules. Knowing that supplemental reexam is the go-to cure for inequitable conduct was worth several points. I was fortunate to have had the chance to talk over reexam/reissue with you by phone (Thanks!) and to have re-read the supplement two-days before the exam. So in general all your advice in the course is right on. Future students should be informed to take those supplements seriously. I think I probably matched you 100-150 hour advice, and in retrospect I feel it was necessary to do that much studying to have a chance. I should say, I had to pay out-of-pocket for your course -- no firm to pay my fees -- but I think it was worth every penny.” – James Whittle, Ph.D. in Biology, postdoctoral fellow; passed March 2013

  • Passed the Patent Bar Exam today!!!! The PLI software was the key to my success...I have already recommended the PLI program to friends that are preparing for the exam. – Todd Johnson, Thomas M. Cooley Law School; Homestudy; Passed March 2013

    “Passed the Patent Bar Exam today!!!! The PLI software was the key to my success. Not sure how many multiple choice questions you have in the database, but I think I saw about every one. I think you have a great product. Your product is the study tool of choice in my book. I have already recommended the PLI program to friends that are preparing for the exam.” – Todd Johnson, Thomas M. Cooley Law School; Homestudy; Passed March 2013

  • [A]fter going through the PLI program, [I] thought the test was easy! I felt that it prepared me perfectly, which I also want to say thank you for! – Michael Templeton; Michigan State University College of Law; homestudy course; passed February 2013

    “[A]fter going through the PLI program, [I] thought the test was easy! I felt that it prepared me perfectly, which I also want to say thank you for! All of the new information of the test, for AIA phase 2, was in the summary information and essentially in the Patware® questions also! On my test, there were probably 8 questions on post grant and inter partes appeals, but nothing caught me off guard!” – Michael Templeton; Michigan State University College of Law; homestudy course; passed February 2013

  • I highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review Course to anyone considering taking the Patent Bar Exam. – Jonathan Kennedy, Esq.; McKee, Voorhees & Sease, PLC; homestudy; passed February 2013

    “The PLI Patent Bar Review Course was instrumental in my passing the Patent Bar Exam on my first go-around. The course not only provides excellent practice test software—PatWare®—but the lectures help you understand what is tested, how it’s tested, and what the test is really looking for. Without a course to give this guidance, it would be close to a shot in the dark, particularly with the newly tested materials (i.e., AIA implementation) that PLI was great at predicting and preparing me for. I highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review Course to anyone considering taking the Patent Bar Exam.” – Jonathan Kennedy, Esq.; McKee, Voorhees & Sease, PLC; homestudy; passed February 2013

  • Thanks so much for the great January class in DC. You guys made the difficult concepts fun and easier to understand. – Lidiya Mishchenko, PhD in Applied Physics, law firm technology specialist; January 2013 DC course; passed February 2013

    “Thanks so much for the great January class in DC. You guys made the difficult concepts fun and easier to understand. I just took the exam on 2/1 and passed! The older tests, Patware®, and the KSR/Bilski/AIA supplement questions were really great preparation.” – Lidiya Mishchenko, PhD in Applied Physics, law firm technology specialist; January 2013 DC course; passed February 2013

  • Your written material, classes, and exam tips were incredibly insightful and comprehensive. Thank you very much! – Kuruvilla Mathen; LLM student, Golden Gate University School of Law; passed January 2013

    “To my very great relief, I passed the Patent Bar Examination yesterday (01/23/13). PLI's Patent Bar Review was absolutely the reason I made it. Your written material, classes, and exam tips were incredibly insightful and comprehensive. Thank you very much!” – Kuruvilla Mathen; LLM student, Golden Gate University School of Law; passed January 2013

  • The PLI Prep Course was outstanding, and I think I would have stumbled badly without it... – Scott Serich, Concord Law School; home study course; passed January, 2013

    “The PLI Prep Course was outstanding, and I think I would have stumbled badly without it. I actually took and taught a professional certification exam prep course earlier in my career in the management area, and it can’t hold a candle to this PLI course. The Patware® sample questions were particularly relevant. The email Q&A responses were also prompt and valuable. In fact, the course contains so much material that I wasn’t able to cover it all, yet still managed to pass the exam. Thanks for the assistance.” – Scott Serich, Concord Law School; home study course; passed January, 2013.”

  • I highly recommend it; it’s an education, not just a test taking course. Thanks so much! – Ed Leber; homestudy course; passed December 2012

    "I'm a scientist, not a lawyer, and so I feel I was at a disadvantage from the start as I didn't ‘think lawyerly.’ I used the PBR Home Course as my primary study tool. The instruction was well presented and interesting. The course and Patware® allowed me the training and skills I needed to get a first time pass. I highly recommend it; it’s an education, not just a test taking course. Thanks so much!" – Ed Leber; homestudy course; passed December 2012

  • Thank You PLI…I could not have passed the patent bar without Mr. White’s lectures and the course materials...The PLI materials and Mr. White’s lectures are excellent. – Richard Malagiere, Esq.; homestudy course; passed December 2012

    “Thank You PLI…I could not have passed the patent bar without Mr. White’s lectures and the course materials. I am a 15 year commercial litigator with a busy practice. I was able to pass the Patent Bar by listening to Mr. White and doing practice exams and reviews on Patware® early in the mornings and on weekends. The PLI materials and Mr. White’s lectures are excellent.” – Richard Malagiere, Esq.; homestudy course; passed December 2012

  • I needed a highly efficient method to review for the Patent Bar. PLI's review course was it - the course was very well laid out and perfect for studying in my own time, at home. – Remy Newcombe, Ph.D.; homestudy course; passed November 2012

    “After a successful career as an engineer and executive, I chose to change gears when I started a family. With a 3-year old and a new baby at home, I needed a highly efficient method to review for the Patent Bar. PLI's review course was it - the course was very well laid out and perfect for studying in my own time, at home. Plus, the simulated exams gave me the confidence to know exactly when I could walk in and pass the exam. I'm now happily working as a patent agent. Thank you PLI!” – Remy Newcombe, Ph.D.; homestudy course; passed November 2012

  • I sincerely believe that the PLI course, with all of its elements (Recorded material, Live lectures, email assistance and Patware® with all of its tools) is extremely effective and, when used properly, nearly guarantees success on the first time around. – Daniel Siegel, VP Technology & IP Assessment, FuturaGene Ltd; passed December 2012

    “Firstly, I would like to thank you for your support during the period in which I was studying for the Patent Bar exam.… I sincerely believe that the PLI course, with all of its elements (Recorded material, Live lectures, email assistance and Patware® with all of its tools) is extremely effective and, when used properly, nearly guarantees success on the first time around. The exam was a breeze compared to the prep work and on most questions I felt like I had already answered them at some point during the exercises provided by PLI. Thank you all.” – Daniel Siegel, VP Technology & IP Assessment, FuturaGene Ltd; passed December 2012

  • Any other patent bar review course is incomparable to that of PLI. PLI provides a thorough, comprehensive yet concise review so that students will feel confident, not overwhelmed, when taking the exam. – Shawn Kim; University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law; passed October 2012

    “PLI was such an instrumental factor in my preparation process for the patent bar exam. As my course was about to expire, PLI graciously offered to extend my online course for a few more months so that I was able to take the patent bar exam after my state bar exam. I appreciated that so much. Any other patent bar review course is incomparable to that of PLI. PLI provides a thorough, comprehensive yet concise review so that students will feel confident, not overwhelmed, when taking the exam. Thank you PLI!” – Shawn Kim; University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law; passed October 2012

  • Great Patent Bar prep course. It provides a great high-level explanation of all of the concepts, along with the details… – Phong Dang, Santa Clara University School of Law; Fall 2012 SF course

    “Great Patent Bar prep course. It provides a great high-level explanation of all of the concepts, along with the details….PLI gives you a foundation to generate your answers logically vs. depending on sheer memorization.” – Phong Dang, Santa Clara University School of Law; Fall 2012 SF course

  • The best ever course I have taken. It is a must if you want to pass the exam. – Joon Kang, LG Electronics, Inc.; Fall 2012 SF course

    “The best ever course I have taken. It is a must if you want to pass the exam.” – Joon Kang, LG Electronics, Inc.; Fall 2012 SF course

  • Thanks to you, John White and the entire staff at PLI for the support and encouragement that was given to me through the patent bar review course. – Rohan D'Souza, Intellectual Property Manager, National Oilwell Varco; homestudy course; passed September 2012

    “Thanks to you, John White and the entire staff at PLI for the support and encouragement that was given to me through the patent bar review course. Understanding the principles and developing confidence in the subject matter that gets tested was key to passing, and that is exactly where the PLI review course helped. Thanks once again.” – Rohan D'Souza, Intellectual Property Manager, National Oilwell Varco; homestudy course; passed September 2012

  • I highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review course. The lectures and other materials were extremely helpful ... – Meera Kamath, Boston University School of Law; passed September 2012

    "I highly recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review course. The lectures and other materials were extremely helpful in providing me with substantive knowledge for the exam and test-taking strategies." – Meera Kamath, Boston University School of Law; passed September 2012

  • I found the course handouts very helpful/well-organized, live course was instructive and clarified questions I had after reading materials. – Olga Vinogradova, PhD Chemistry, University of Chicago Law School; passed September 2012

    “I decided to take the patent bar exam prior to starting law school. I was looking for a course that presented the material in a structured manner with helpful exam tips (i.e., what you really should know by heart, what you’ll have ample opportunity to look up and what you won’t be really asked) from a company with an established reputation. PLI definitely met my needs: I found the course handouts very helpful/well-organized, live course was instructive and clarified questions I had after reading materials. Passed exam on the first attempt, hence, the ‘method’ works.” – Olga Vinogradova, PhD Chemistry, University of Chicago Law School; passed September 2012

  • I found the home study PLI PBR course indispensable in preparing for and passing the USPTO registration examination ... Thanks very much to PLI for a great course. – John F. Koeppen, JD; passed September 2012

    “I found the home study PLI PBR course indispensable in preparing for and passing the USPTO registration examination. Especially helpful were the materials on updated guidance for patent examination in light of case law and the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act. The PLI course was a key part of my transition from military service to a second career in intellectual property. Thanks very much to PLI for a great course.” – John F. Koeppen, JD; passed September 2012

  • I wholeheartedly recommend the program, and found John White's videos and Patware® especially helpful. – Rivka Friedman, Dr. Mark Friedman Ltd.; passed September 2012

    “I wholeheartedly recommend the program, and found John White's videos and Patware® especially helpful.” – Rivka Friedman, Dr. Mark Friedman Ltd.; passed September 2012

  • I would recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review Course to anyone who is planning to take the patent bar. – Shilpa Ghurye, Ph.D, J.D.; passed September 2012

    “I worked in an IP law firm prior to going to law school. Therefore, I was familiar with patent prosecution rules. However, PLI Patent Bar Review course was very helpful in my preparation for the patent bar and passing the bar in my first attempt. … I would recommend the PLI Patent Bar Review Course to anyone who is planning to take the patent bar.” – Shilpa Ghurye, Ph.D, J.D.; passed September 2012

  • I strongly recommend this program to any student who is confident they want to pursue a career in patent law….[I]t is an investment which pays for itself quickly! – Eric Eisenhardt, Lewis and Clark Law School; passed August 2012

    “PLI both brought me up to speed and allowed me to pass the patent bar during my 1L summer! Not only has this led to an advantage in my 2L IP classes, but it has also put me at the head of the line for 2L summer clerkships. I strongly recommend this program to any student who is confident they want to pursue a career in patent law….[I]t is an investment which pays for itself quickly!” – Eric Eisenhardt, Lewis and Clark Law School; passed August 2012

  • While I was studying, all the agents and lawyers I work with recommended this course and no other ... Thank you, John and the great support team at PLI! – Leonore Witchey-Lakshmanan, Ph.D., Principal Consultant, Pharma CMC/IP; passed August 2012

    "John White's PLI program is the seminal course in taking and passing the patent bar. While I was studying, all the agents and lawyers I work with recommended this course and no other. And once I committed to putting the hours in to studying and passed…HURRAY! I knew I had made the right choice of study materials! Thank you, John and the great support team at PLI!" – Leonore Witchey-Lakshmanan, Ph.D., Principal Consultant, Pharma CMC/IP; passed August 2012

  • The Chicago live course was very helpful. Later on, the study material allowed me to review on my own time and be more efficient when I studied. I encountered numerous questions on the Bar Exam that I had already seen via Patware®. – Dan Roth, Chicago Kent College of Law; Passed August 2012

    “The Chicago live course was very helpful. Later on, the study material allowed me to review on my own time and be more efficient when I studied. I encountered numerous questions on the Bar Exam that I had already seen via Patware®.” – Dan Roth, Chicago Kent College of Law; Passed August 2012

  • PLI team provided the perfect organization of in-class instruction/practice, exam fundamentals/tips, and post-course support that made the actual exam almost seem easy. - Gary Fong, Sr. Director, Technology & IP Development, Flextronics; passed September 2012

    “John White is the Zen Master of the Patent Bar Exam. John, Gene Quinn, and PLI team provided the perfect organization of in-class instruction/practice, exam fundamentals/tips, and post-course support that made the actual exam almost seem easy. Patware®, PLI’s proprietary test simulation system, is an integral part of the program and key for training, pacing, and benchmarking . . . accept no substitute. Highly recommended, especially for those who are time-constrained.” – Gary Fong, Sr. Director, Technology & IP Development, Flextronics; passed September 2012

  • I am very thankful to John White and crew for putting this course together so that full time family men like myself can get the knowledge we need to pass at life's pace!!! - Andre' Dandridge, JD; Michigan State University College of Law; passed August 2012

    “I took the test today and got my preliminary pass!! I am very thankful to John White and crew for putting this course together so that full time family men like myself can get the knowledge we need to pass at life's pace!!! Keep up the great work!!!” – Andre' Dandridge, JD; Michigan State University College of Law; passed August 2012

  • I'd definitely recommend PLI's patent bar prep for anyone planning to sit for the exam. - Jason O’Leary, Esq.; Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper & Scinto; passed August 2012

    “I wanted to let you know I took the exam yesterday and passed. Thanks for putting together such a comprehensive program and for being available to answer questions while I prepared. I'd definitely recommend PLI's patent bar prep for anyone planning to sit for the exam.” – Jason O’Leary, Esq.; Fitzpatrick, Cella, Harper & Scinto; passed August 2012

  • Patware® was a great tool for focusing on topics where I was not scoring in my desired range. - Reza Sarbakhsh, Esq.; Kellner Herlihy Getty & Friedman, LLP; passed July 2012

    “When I sat at a Prometric computer to take the patent bar, I was ready and calm. I wasn't fazed by the picture of a patient with his guts hanging out, displayed on the computer next to my test station, where a test taker was undoubtedly sitting for some sort of medical exam. Taking the online course was absolutely essential. The lectures painted a vivid picture of the patent prosecution process and the various tracks that an application can take; and the questions that the exam can ask about all that goes on in the process. John's lectures helped me develop an instinct for what a right answer on the exam would look like, and he pointed out the instances where a rule is counterintuitive. John made the material easier to grasp, and was even humorous…. His recommendations as to the number of hours to study and the pace were spot on. Patware® was a great tool for focusing on topics where I was not scoring in my desired range. Once my scores on practice questions improved, Patware® became a confidence booster. Finally, towards the end of my studies, John was very helpful (and quick) in responding to my emails…about specific problems I had when studying for the exam. In the end, it was almost inevitable that I would pass.” – Reza Sarbakhsh, Esq.; Kellner Herlihy Getty & Friedman, LLP; passed July 2012

  • I just wanted to let you know that I took the P-Bar and passed (the first time) thanks to the great study materials and course! - Melissa Coombes, Gonzaga University School of Law; passed July 2012

    “I just wanted to let you know that I took the P-Bar and passed (the first time) thanks to the great study materials and course!” – Melissa Coombes, Gonzaga University School of Law; passed July 2012

  • This was an absolutely amazing program and I am so glad that I used PLI. The program provided me with all the necessary tools to pass the patent bar the first time. - Jennifer Cornely; passed July 2012

    “The PLI Patent Bar course was a comprehensive and flexible program which allowed me to effectively and efficiently study and pass the patent bar on my first try. … The program worked well for me because it gave me the flexibility to create a study schedule that worked around my other obligations and commitments…. The online portion of the course was a big part of my success. I was able to track my progress to ensure I was on target to take the test. Also I was able to take practice tests in my home, under the actual testing conditions which made me much more comfortable when I took the actual exam. Finally, the program provided a lot of opportunity to gain confidence in using the information I was learning through mini quizzes, comprehensive reviews, and section tests. This was an absolutely amazing program and I am so glad that I used PLI. The program provided me with all the necessary tools to pass the patent bar the first time.” – Jennifer Cornely; passed July 2012

  • I was completely lost on how to even begin to study for this test. Now I have a plan and knowledge to do it successfully. - Kristen Dola; Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP; Chicago summer live course

    “I was completely lost on how to even begin to study for this test. Now I have a plan and knowledge to do it successfully.” – Kristen Dola; Marshall, Gerstein & Borun LLP; Chicago summer live course

  • Everything about this course the PLI is top-notch. - Sarah Oulton, Western New England University School of Law; Boston course summer 2012

    “Everything about this course the PLI is top-notch. The written materials and Patware® are geared toward teaching us to pass the Exam, so there is really no excuse to not pass if one exerts the effort required to learn the excellent material.” – Sarah Oulton, Western New England University School of Law; Boston course summer 2012

  • Clear, well-paced, informative and surprisingly entertaining for a patent training seminar. - Chris Toles, Chemist; Boston course summer 2012

    “Clear, well-paced, informative and surprisingly entertaining for a patent training seminar.” – Chris Toles, Chemist; Boston course summer 2012

  • I'm confident the PLI course was worth every penny and will be sure to pass that ... - Walter Freitag, incoming law student, Georgia State University College of Law; passed July 2012

    “I took your course last week in Boston and today took the Patent Bar and received my preliminary pass. I just wanted to thank you for putting on such a phenomenal program; without it I'm sure I would have been back to go at this again. I'm confident the PLI course was worth every penny and will be sure to pass that along to those I run in to in the future.” – Walter Freitag, incoming law student, Georgia State University College of Law; passed July 2012

  • I am delighted to report your advice ‘Patware® until numbness sets in!’ (and your course, of course) allowed me to pass the patent bar today. - Jonathan Bick, Esq., Adjunct Professor, Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; passed June 2012

    “I am delighted to report your advice ‘Patware® until numbness sets in!’ (and your course, of course) allowed me to pass the patent bar today.” – Jonathan Bick, Esq., Adjunct Professor, Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; passed June 2012

  • I passed the Patent Bar. I firmly believe that the course and the Patware® exams were the key to success. - Ed Mantilla, Chemistry PhD; Product Evaluation Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific; passed June 2012

    “I wanted to let you and all the folks at PLI know that, yesterday, I passed the Patent Bar. I firmly believe that the course and the Patware® exams were the key to success. Thanks to all of you for putting out a great review course.” – Ed Mantilla, Chemistry PhD; Product Evaluation Manager, Thermo Fisher Scientific; passed June 2012

  • I just wanted to thank you and everyone at PLI for putting together the Patent Bar Review Course. - Kevin Donohue, University of Indiana School of Medicine; homestudy 2012

    “I just wanted to thank you and everyone at PLI for putting together the Patent Bar Review Course. Having no experience whatsoever with regard to the intricacies of patent prosecution, I was overwhelmed and quite frankly terrified by the prospect of adequately preparing myself to sit for the exam. With each video I watch and each chapter I work through, I find myself becoming more and more confident that this is something that I really want to do and more importantly perhaps, something that I can do.” – Kevin Donohue, University of Indiana School of Medicine; homestudy 2012

  • Thank you for your instruction in the PLI Home Study Course. Your course enabled me to pass the exam on my first attempt. - Nathan Suedmeyer, Larson & Larson P.A.; passed summer 2012

    “Thank you for your instruction in the PLI Home Study Course. Your course enabled me to pass the exam on my first attempt.” -- Nathan Suedmeyer, Larson & Larson P.A.; passed summer 2012

  • I passed the USPTO exam today! I know I could not have done it without your program. - Rebeka Davidova, Golden Gate University School of Law; passed July 2012

    “I just wanted to take a moment to say ‘Thank You’... I passed the USPTO exam today! I know I could not have done it without your program. That exam is not to be underestimated!!” – Rebeka Davidova, Golden Gate University School of Law; passed July 2012

  • I am seriously happy with the whole experience from start to finish. Thank you PLI. - Lin Chase; passed summer 2012

    “I had absolutely no experience with either patents or law before I started the PLI Patent Bar prep course, and I passed on my first try! I cannot imagine having been able to do this without PLI's amazing materials and reliable email coaching. I am seriously happy with the whole experience from start to finish. Thank you, PLI!" – Lin Chase; passed summer 2012

  • I wanted to let you know that I passed the patent bar on my first try!... - Joseph Janas, Chicago-Kent College of Law; passed 2012

    "I wanted to let you know that I passed the patent bar on my first try! PLI prepared me well. I could hear John White's voice in my head as I was taking the exam.” – Joseph Janas, Chicago-Kent College of Law; passed 2012

  • I have no legal knowledge or training, and after 5 days I feel well on my way to passing the patent bar. - Zach Johnson, engineering student; Houston course summer 2012

    "I have no legal knowledge or training, and after 5 days I feel well on my way to passing the patent bar.” – Zach Johnson, engineering student; Houston course summer 2012

  • I just wanted to e-mail you guys and let you know I just passed the exam this past Wednesday... - Justin DeAngelis, future law student (Chicago-Kent); passed 2012

    “I just wanted to e-mail you guys and let you know I just passed the exam this past Wednesday. I took the live course in Chicago over St. Patrick's day weekend and I also utilized the online material throughout my studying, which I found to be very helpful. I want to thank all of you at PLI for the amazing course you put together. I would have never been able to pass the exam without your help. I actually just graduated with my ME degree from UW Madison in December so I had absolutely no experience whatsoever dealing with IP Law and this course taught me everything I needed to know for the exam. I would say I had seen between 15-20 of the questions on previous exams and was very prepared for all of the PCT and Appeals questions which comprised about 8 questions each on the test. Thanks again, and I will definitely be recommending the course to my future fellow law students when I begin law school at Chicago-Kent in the fall.” – Justin DeAngelis, future law student (Chicago-Kent); passed 2012

  • Thank you! I am thrilled that I passed on my first try. - Andrew Chipouras, Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP; passed 2012

    “Thank you! I am thrilled that I passed on my first try. I found the PLI course to be well-organized and efficient. It really focused on exactly what you need to know to pass the exam.” – Andrew Chipouras, Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn LLP; passed 2012

  • Using the Patware® software was so close to taking the real exam, I felt completely comfortable with the format of the exam … - Kathleen A. Chaffee, Chemistry PhD, SNR Denton US LLP; passed 2012

    “Using the Patware® software was so close to taking the real exam, I felt completely comfortable with the format of the exam …. I took the exams on Patware® until I knew why each answer was right or wrong and passed my first try….on May 22, just two months after the PLI course, so it really worked!” – Kathleen A. Chaffee, Chemistry PhD, SNR Denton US LLP; passed 2012

  • The PLI Patent Bar Review course was extremely helpful for me. - Nikki A. Charles, PhD.; passed March 2012

    “The PLI Patent Bar Review course was extremely helpful for me. I took the online course. As someone with no legal foundation I really liked the fact that I could take each session at my own pace and easily review sections that I did not understand. I thought Mr. White was very thorough in his discussion throughout the course and the material was introduced in a way that would allow someone with no background in law to easily follow and understand. On the day of the exam I felt confident that I was familiar with all the material I needed to know to pass. I very much enjoyed the experience and would recommend this course to anyone considering a preparatory course for the patent bar exam.” – Nikki A. Charles, PhD.; passed March 2012

  • I just wanted to let you know that I passed the USPTO registration exam yesterday. - Michelle Han, law student, Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; passed May 2012

    “I just wanted to let you know that I passed the USPTO registration exam yesterday. The PLI program was fundamental in giving me the confidence to go into the exam. The simulation software was great and, of course, John White did an excellent job in making a really dry subject, a little more interesting.” – Michelle Han, law student, Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; passed May 2012

  • I didn’t know the class price included 40 hours of patent humor. I would have paid extra for that. - Dominick Zero, law student, Widener University School of Law; New York course summer 2012

    “I didn’t know the class price included 40 hours of patent humor. I would have paid extra for that." - Dominick Zero, law student, Widener University School of Law; New York course summer 2012

  • It was a great experience! - David Collado, law student, Cardozo School of Law; New York course summer 2012

    “It was a great experience! Challenging for sure, but I feel like I learned a ton and I’m confident I can master the material and pass the exam on the first try.” – David Collado, law student, Cardozo School of Law; New York course summer 2012

  • PLI's Patent Bar preparation was great! - Dr. Mark Siegel, law student, New England School of law; passed 2012

    "PLI's Patent Bar preparation was great! I found John White to be extremely knowledgeable, encouraging, and accessible during my test-preparation. Thanks very much!" – Dr. Mark Siegel, law student, New England School of law; passed 2012

  • I could not have passed the patent bar exam without taking the PLI Patent Bar course - Joy M. Weber, Global Design Transfer Leader, GE Healthcare; passed 2012.

    “I could not have passed the patent bar exam without taking the PLI Patent Bar course. I found the in-person course extremely helpful because I was able to immerse myself in the exam material during my week in Chicago, IL. The study and supplemental materials are well organized. I highly recommend this course for anyone who is considering taking the patent bar exam.” - Joy M. Weber, Global Design Transfer Leader, GE Healthcare; passed 2012.

  • The more I studied the PLI materials, the more ingenious I believe the program is – Fran Sweeney, LLM, passed 2012

    "Thank you so much for the PLI Patent Bar Program. The more I studied the PLI materials, the more ingenious I believe the program is: it appears to be designed to incorporate the salient points of law as they are tested on the actual exam. I firmly believed I passed the exam for this reason." – Fran Sweeney, LLM, passed 2012

  • I've been strongly recommending PLI to anyone who wants to explore this line of work – Vijay Gore, Chemistry PhD; passed 2012

    “I passed the USPTO registration exam couple of weeks ago. I wanted to thank PLI for helping me prepare for the test. The material provided by PLI and the live-course are by far the best compared to other vendors. I've been strongly recommending PLI to anyone who wants to explore this line of work. I would like to thank you all for the help you provided (email answers to specific questions around the material & technical questions) during my preparation for the test.” – Vijay Gore, Chemistry PhD; passed 2012

  • The PLI Patent Bar preparation course was essential to my passing the patent bar...I could not have done it without PLI- Pratik Jhanb, Exec. Director, IP Law Society, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law; passed 2012

    “The PLI Patent Bar preparation course was essential to my passing the patent bar on the first go. I took the patent bar while working full time and going to law-school in the evening and I could not have done it without PLI. John White's lectures were great for the basic understanding of the material. The exercises at the end of each chapter really helped to lock in the concepts. All the practice exams at the end were great. I believe that PLI was definitely worth the investment.” - Pratik Jhanb, Exec. Director, IP Law Society, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, William S. Boyd School of Law; passed 2012

  • As PLI predicted, there were lots of questions on newly testable material (KSR, Bilski, etc.) on my Exam, and the PLI practice questions were right on the money. – Christopher Mirley, PhD; IP Manager, Metabolix; passed February 2012

    “As PLI predicted, there were lots of questions on newly testable material (KSR, Bilski, etc.) on my Exam, and the PLI practice questions were right on the money. By the way I went to a seminar at Suffolk U given by Chief Judge Rader from the CAFC and guess what he discussed.... 35 USC 101!!!! It was wonderful, as I actually understood all they he was talking about. Thanks PLI!” – Christopher Mirley, PhD; IP Manager, Metabolix; passed February 2012

  • PLI's prep course is enormously helpful in studying for the patent bar. – John Go, Loyola Law School (Los Angeles); passed February 2012

    "PLI's prep course is enormously helpful in studying for the patent bar. The instructor's tips and pointers are spot on and Patware®'s practice tests are essential, as several questions are recycled verbatim on the exam. Everyone was incredibly prompt and responsive in answering my questions and I would highly recommend the course to anyone who is looking to take the test, whether they're a law school graduate or not." – John Go, Loyola Law School (Los Angeles); passed February 2012

  • Thank you again for your solid course. – Stephen Kunen, Emory University School of Law; passed January 2012

    “Thank you again for your solid course.” – Stephen Kunen, Emory University School of Law; passed January 2012

  • Very happy and satisfied with the PLI patent course…. – Izzat Izzat, PhD; Fall 2011 NY course; passed 2012

    “Very happy and satisfied with the PLI patent course…. I was…impressed with the course material, origination and the staff. I would definitely recommend the class for everyone planning to take the patent exam.” – Izzat Izzat, PhD; Fall 2011 NY course; passed 2012

  • A full immersion course that was very useful! Thank you! – Monica Ravanello, PhD; Monsanto; January 2012 DC course

    “A full immersion course that was very useful! Thank you!” – Monica Ravanello, PhD; Monsanto; January 2012 DC course

  • PLI Patent Bar Review Course made the process simple and helped me learn exactly what I needed to know to pass. – Margaux Birdsall, Chicago-Kent College of Law, 2012

    “I had an excellent experience with PLI. I started studying just days after taking the Illinois bar exam and was not looking forward to beginning another course of study so soon after taking the bar. However, the PLI Patent Bar Review Course made the process simple and helped me learn exactly what I needed to know to pass.” – Margaux Birdsall, Chicago-Kent College of Law; passed 2012

  • This course is a must! – Cynthia Guerrero, Pharmacist, DC course 2012

    “Excellent course: Truly enjoyed John White’s online lectures. He makes you think strategically and you feel confident and can visualize potential questions. This course is a must!” – Cynthia Guerrero, Pharmacist; DC course 2012

  • I was extremely happy with the help I received from PLI's Patent Bar Review course! – Anne Readel, University of Wisconsin Law School, Homestudy course, 2012

    “I was extremely happy with the help I received from PLI's Patent Bar Review course! The course helped me to focus on the important parts of the MPEP in a very concise and efficient manner. I took a home study course and the combination of recorded lectures, homework, and practice problems helped me learn and apply the material at the convenience of my own schedule.” – Anne Readel, University of Wisconsin Law School; passed 2012

  • PLI did a great job of providing the materials...that distills a complex subject into digestible chunks. – John Chu, Senior Software Engineer, 2012

    “Walking into the exam, I felt very confident about the materials! I really think that PLI did a great job of providing the materials (written, recorded and live seminars) that distills a complex subject into digestible chunks. The iterative approach of building knowledge was an excellent way that helped me retain information. To top it off, no one beats John White – great instructor! “ – John Chu, Senior Software Engineer; passed 2012

  • I would suggest the PLI course to anyone planning to take the Patent Bar! – Aaron Gin, McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff, LLP, 2011

    “PLI’s Patent Bar Review course was essential to me passing the registration exam on the first try! John White and Gene Quinn did a good job keeping me interested throughout the live course material and they provided great tips for my post-course study and test-day preparations. I would suggest the PLI course to anyone planning to take the Patent Bar!” – Aaron Gin, McDonnell Boehnen Hulbert & Berghoff, LLP; passed fall 2011

  • PLI is the gold-standard for patent bar study programs. – Ryan Underwood, University of Kentucky College of Law, 2011

    “Hands down the most accessible and effective patent bar review program. PLI is the gold-standard for patent bar study programs.” – Ryan Underwood, University of Kentucky College of Law, 2011

  • A remarkable tour through the rules – Tony Marble, Abbott Molecular Inc., 2011

    “A remarkable tour through the rules, regulations and procedures governing the USPTO patent process.” – Tony Marble, Abbott Molecular Inc., 2011

  • Passing the Exam – Jennifer Fassett, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, 2011

    “This course was engaging and conducted with razor-like focus on one thing: Passing the Exam.” – Jennifer Fassett, Thomas M. Cooley Law School, 2011

  • I would strongly recommend the PLI materials to anyone who wishes to pass the test on their first try. – Yike Ni, scientist, 2011

    “There are many patent bar materials or resources on the market. However, the PLI study set stands out due to its effectiveness to help people like me pass the patent bar exam. I would strongly recommend the PLI materials to anyone who wishes to pass the test on their first try.” – Yike Ni, scientist, 2011

  • Whether you are a novice or experienced practitioner, this course truly is THE course to take if you want to pass the patent bar. - Corporate Attorney; New York course 2011

    “Whether you are a novice or experienced practitioner, this course truly is THE course to take if you want to pass the patent bar. The in-class time is worthwhile and highly recommended, particularly due to the direct access to the instructors. However, the post-course material (i.e. sample questions software, lecture review etc.) is what makes this course worth its weight in gold. The instructors were timely in answering e-mailed questions, which helps during that last week of review. If you want to pass the patent bar the first time, which I hope you do, don't look any further.” – Antun Peakovic, Corporate Attorney; New York course 2011

  • I can’t imagine a better course or a better way to teach it - Barry University School of Law, Boston course summer 2011

    “As difficult as the patent bar is, I can’t imagine a better course or a better way to teach it.” – J. Mason Williams, Barry University School of Law, Boston course summer 2011

  • John White and the PLI experts provided me with tremendous knowledge into the test which included detailed MPEP information and documentation for achieving a pass on the first take following course completion. - AKIN GUMP STRAUSS HAUER & FELD LLP, San Francisco course fall 2010, passed summer 2011

    “John White and the PLI experts provided me with tremendous knowledge into the test which included detailed MPEP information and documentation for achieving a pass on the first take following course completion. The LIVE course provided additional insight with “hands on” interaction that is second to none. I recommend PLI to all of my peers. You too can PASS!!” -- David L. Odom, Esq., AKIN GUMP STRAUSS HAUER & FELD LLP, San Francisco course fall 2010, passed summer 2011

  • The live program was well worth it - Albany Law School, Boston course summer 2011

    “After an intense 5 day regimen of patent bar material I feel like I am ready to move forward at a steady pace towards success. The live program was well worth it.” – John Hudge, Albany Law School, Boston course summer 2011

  • PLI live course addresses all necessary details in a highly informative and enjoyable manner - Pfizer, Boston course summer 2011

    “Reading MPEP is pretty boring and a big burden. However, the PLI live course addresses all necessary details in a highly informative and enjoyable manner.” –Yike Ni, Pfizer, Boston course summer 2011

  • I would recommend PLI to future applicants! – Lisa R. Oropollo, 2011

    “I wanted to let you know that I passed the Patent Bar today. Thanks for all of your assistance and support! I would recommend PLI to future applicants! I found that John White's lectures gave me a solid foundation and understanding of the subject matter. As an attorney engaged in the full-time practice of law, it was necessary for me to study "part-time" at home on evenings and weekends. This course gave me the flexibility to do that. On several occasions, I emailed John White with questions relative to the Patent exam and Patent application process in general. He consistently replied in a prompt manner and was able to answer all of my questions.” - Lisa R. Oropollo, Esq.; passed 2011

  • One-stop shop for all things patent bar. No need to look anywhere else. – Chris Ruprecht, University of Kansas School of Law; Chicago Live course, Summer 2010

    “One-stop shop for all things patent bar. No need to look anywhere else.” – Chris Ruprecht, University of Kansas School of Law; Chicago Live course, Summer 2010

  • The PLI program was excellent in preparing for the patent bar. Thank you! – Matthew Horowitz, University of Miami School of Law; Homestudy course, 2010

    “The PLI program was excellent in preparing for the patent bar. Thank you!” – Matthew Horowitz, University of Miami School of Law; Homestudy course, 2010

  • I would not have been able to do this with the focus and diligence of your course. – Jayita Guhaniyogi, Ph.D., Intellectual Property Director, Signum Biosciences Inc. and Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; Homestudy course, 2010

    “I just wanted to share with you my joy and excitement in passing the Patent Bar on my first attempt. Although working in the field of patents for the last two years has helped, I would not have been able to do this with the focus and diligence of your course. So, kudos to you for that. Your course was recommended to me by my peers who have succeeded before me, and I will be passing along the recommendation to anyone I meet with an interest in this field.” – Jayita Guhaniyogi, Ph.D., Intellectual Property Director, Signum Biosciences Inc. and Rutgers University School of Law – Newark; Homestudy course, 2010

  • I passed the Patent Bar Exam on my first attempt - University of Maryland School of Law; homestudy course 2010

    "I passed the Patent Bar Exam on my first attempt. The PLI homestudy course was terrific." - Adam P. Lerner, University of Maryland School of Law; homestudy course 2010

  • This course had the perfect combination of ingredients: - Santa Clara University School of Law; Santa Clara course summer 2010

    "This course had the perfect combination of ingredients: great coverage of the material, well-informed instructors and the perfect amount of patent attorney humor." – Lee-Ann Smith, Santa Clara University School of Law; Santa Clara course summer 2010

  • The dynamic presentation format of PLI's PBR keeps you continually engaged…a feature lacking in cheaper alternative patent bar courses! - Indiana University School of Law; Chicago course Spring 2010

    "The dynamic presentation format of PLI's PBR keeps you continually engaged…a feature lacking in cheaper alternative patent bar courses!" – Jay Vyas, Bioinformatician, University of Connecticut – Health Science Center; NY course summer 2010

  • I took the Patent Bar last week and passed on the first try!! - Chicago course Spring 2010

    "I took the Patent Bar last week and passed on the first try!! Your class in Chicago was great and so, so helpful! Thanks!" – Jessica Van Dalen, Indiana University School of Law; Chicago course Spring 2010

  • The PLI Patent Bar Review course and John White were nothing short of amazing. -Chicago Spring course 2009

    "The PLI Patent Bar Review course and John White were nothing short of amazing. I could never have passed without both. I also took the PRG (Kayton) course which I found to be much less useful and did not yield successful results on the exam. I found the PLI course to be so much more focused on what was needed to pass the exam. The 40 hours of John White on CD proved invaluable to my study, as did Patware®. I listened to him in my car on long road trips, in addition to attending the live class. Delightfully, John provided timely answers to my detailed questions via email. As Gene says, John White truly is the Rock Star of Patent Law. I look forward to taking additional courses from PLI and John in the future as I embark on my IP career." - Catherine E. Dolata, Esq.; Chicago Spring course 2009

  • I would like to personally thank you for helping me pass the Patent Registration Exam. - fall 2010; homestudy course 2010

    "I would like to personally thank you for helping me pass the Patent Registration Exam. I was an outsider to the field of patent law and had little, if any, knowledge of what a patent even was. After studying for two months with the PLI Home Study Course and working out many, many problems with Patware®, I successfully passed the exam this past Tuesday, May 4, 2010. You've put together a great program and I'm very glad I chose your product!" - Mike Carrozza; AT&T and entering law student, fall 2010; homestudy course 2010

  • John White and Gene Quinn are truly the IP Masters. - Chicago live course 2010

    "John White and Gene Quinn are truly the IP Masters. The course is a great review of IP law for attorneys and a good starting point for law students." – Brad Taub, Esq.; Nixon Peabody LLP; Chicago live course 2010

  • Thank you PLI for all of the great help. I passed the registration exam earlier this week, and probably with a strong margin. - Southern California course 2009

    "Thank you PLI for all of the great help. I passed the registration exam earlier this week, and probably with a strong margin. This was on my first try. I now have a fine background and understanding of the basics." - Ronald Haner, PhD, Santa Clara University; Southern California course 2009

  • I'm an R&D guy with 70 patents and a pretty good knowledge of the patent system - Patent Strategies; homestudy course 2009

    "I'm an R&D guy with 70 patents and a pretty good knowledge of the patent system, but I never would have passed without this course." – Jeff Dalton, Patent Strategies; homestudy course 2009

  • I passed. First try. Thanks to PLI - Houston Live Course, 2009

    "I passed. First try. Thanks to PLI. The PLI Patent Bar Review unquestionably helped me prepare for the patent bar exam, and I ATE IT UP. The Patware® software genuinely prepared me for the material and format of the exam, and the PLI faculty generously answered all of my questions. Thank you PLI, for such a great program." – Taylor M. Norton, LeBlanc Bland, P.L.L.C., Houston Live Course, 2009

  • Thanks for all of your help. - Houston course 2009

  • The instructors did a great job with presenting the material...-NY course Fall 2009

    "The instructors did a great job with presenting the material, using real-life stories and humor when appropriate, and outlined a smooth road of success for studying and passing the Patent Bar on the first try." -- Michael Estrella, BS Chemical Engineering, Bostik, Inc; NY course Fall 2009

  • I took the PLI patent bar course in Chicago in August and am happy to report I passed the exam yesterday. - Chicago course summer 2009

    "I took the PLI patent bar course in Chicago in August and am happy to report I passed the exam yesterday. The class was great and the Patware® practice materials were particularly helpful. Thanks for all of your help." -- Matthew T. Lord, Jenner & Block LLP; Chicago course summer 2009

  • Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know that another one of your Patent Bar Review students passed the test first time…- August 2009

    "Just wanted to drop you a line and let you know that another one of your Patent Bar Review students passed the test first time…. Your course was an invaluable guide…." -- Graham Ross, Cardinal Health; homestudy course 2008; passed Exam August 2009

  • Put me down as a satisfied customer. - Boston course 2009

    "Put me down as a satisfied customer. I took your Patent Bar Review course in Boston in June, and...passed the exam on the first attempt....Thanks for offering this program. I have no doubt that it was primarily responsible for my success on the test." -- Michael Corman; Masters in Chemistry, 19 years experience at Pfizer as medicinal chemist; Boston course 2009

  • PLI's patent bar review course is a comprehensive, well-organized course of study.- homestudy course 2008-2009

    "PLI's patent bar review course is a comprehensive, well-organized course of study. Having no prior knowledge of patent law, I was able to pass the patent bar by taking PLI’s home course and investing the time required." -- Bryan Walker, Washburn University School of Law; homestudy course 2008-2009

  • I took the exam this past Tuesday, and passed. - Homestudy Course 2009

    "I took the exam this past Tuesday, and passed. Thanks again for all your help and excellent preparation! Everything was more or less exactly as I had been led to expect. The questions were more or less at the same difficulty level, and directed to the same topics, as you had led us to expect." -- Doug Burum, PhD; Vern Maine and Associates; Homestudy Course 2009

  • Prior to enrolling in the course, I contemplated the possibility that my experience as a Scientific Advisor at a top technology law firm would suffice to guide me through the exam. - New York summer 2009 course.

    "Prior to enrolling in the course, I contemplated the possibility that my experience as a Scientific Advisor at a top technology law firm would suffice to guide me through the exam. I quickly ascertained from the first morning of lectures that the formal understanding of the MPEP was in fact a very different skill set than the actual practice of patent prosecution. I conclude that any length or level of patent law practice is not a substitute for the PLI patent bar review course, and even experienced practitioners would be wise to participate." -- Craig Kenesky, PhD, Wilson, Sonsini, Goodrich & Rosati; New York summer 2009 course.

  • Got official results from the USPTO this week telling me I passed the patent bar exam. - Chicago spring 2009 course

    "Got official results from the USPTO this week telling me I passed the patent bar exam. Just wanted to thank you for the excellent instruction. The drills, practice tests, and select reading made test day seem like just another day. The Patent Bar XChange is a great idea and valuable resource. Thank you for making this available." -- George Atkins, Sun Microsystems; Chicago spring 2009 course

  • You think patent law is dry and boring? - DC course 2009

    "You think patent law is dry and boring? Take PLI's course with John White!" -- Jason Swartz, University of Cincinnati College of Law; DC course 2009

  • Your program is flawless. Thanks PLI. - homestudy course 2008-2009

    "Your program is flawless. Thanks PLI." -- Peter Chevalier, attorney; homestudy course 2008-2009

  • I took the exam yesterday and passed. - homestudy course 2008-2009

    "I took the exam yesterday and passed. I just wanted to email you and thank you. The course and your instructions were vital in my preparation. You, and everyone at PLI, do an amazing job with the course." -- Opie D. Bowen, Mercer University School of Law; homestudy course 2008-2009

  • I want to thank you very much for both the PLI course and your support in answering my questions. - Brooklyn Law School; homestudy course 2008-2009

    "I want to thank you very much for both the PLI course and your support in answering my questions. I passed the patent exam on my first try last Friday. I could not have been more satisfied with the course and the preparation and confidence it gave me. Not only was it thorough, but you somehow managed to make it as much of a positive, upbeat experience as possible. As hard as it was to learn the material, take practice exams, and sit through the real exam, I will not look back on the ordeal as a traumatic experience as much as a challenge that both improved me as a student, lawyer, and test-taker. Two of my friends both took the course and passed on their first try as well. I am really impressed with the quality of the preparation we received!" -- Jessica Zafont, Brooklyn Law School; homestudy course 2008-2009

  • I wanted to take this opportunity to thank PLI...for their excellent help with my preparation for the patent bar exam. - homestudy course 2008/2009

    "I wanted to take this opportunity to thank PLI...for their excellent help with my preparation for the patent bar exam. I took and passed the exam yesterday after doing the homestudy course over the past six months at home during my spare time while continuing to practice as an attorney full time. I felt very confident on the exam and recognized a solid 20-25 questions which were exact repeats from the study materials as well as another 20-25 which were obvious alterations of prior questions I had seen. I was extremely impressed with this preparation material as it was exactly as advertised and lead to a successful result. Thank you very much and I will certainly recommend this to anyone in the field. Keep up the good work" -- Thomas Geroulo, Esq., Weber Gallagher Simpson Stapleton Fires & Newby LLP; homestudy course 2008/2009

  • I am a law student who took the Patent Bar Exam (PBE) at the end of my second year of law school. - NY spring course 2008

    "I am a law student who took the Patent Bar Exam (PBE) at the end of my second year of law school. I took the PLI Patent Bar Review live course the summer before and I'm happy to report that I passed the PBE on my first try!!! I didn't think I would pass because I've heard so much about the approximately 50% pass rate on the PBE. But the key is focused preparation, which is exactly what the PLI course provides by emphasizing the material (i.e. MPEP 700, 2100, 1800) that the PBE likes to frequently tests. As a busy law student, there's simply no way I can humanly find the time to read, outline, comprehend the 3000-page+ MPEP on my own!" -- William Wong, UCLA School of Law; NY spring course 2008

  • I took the exam & passed the Patent Bar on my first try! - New York Course Fall 2008

    "I took the exam & passed the Patent Bar on my first try! I want to let you know how grateful I am to John White, Gene Quinn and the PLI course. The live class was terrific and the course you offer teaches you everything you need to succeed for the Patent Bar exam. I did appreciate as well your post-course availability for questions via e-mail." -- Gilles Bignan, PhD, pharmaceutical R&D; New York Course Fall 2008

  • I took PLI’s live New York October ‘08 Patent Bar review course. - New York course 2008

    "I took PLI’s live New York October ‘08 Patent Bar review course. I was not able to begin studying until February '09 due to projects at work. This caused me great concern, but having all of the lectures on CD let me get right back up to speed. Although the Patent Bar exam is not easy by any means, I studied hard and I passed the exam yesterday. I would like to thank PLI for a solid program built around top notch materials." - Christopher Palestro, Esq., IBM Corporation and Adjunct Associate Professor, Iona College Hagan School of Business; New York course 2008

  • PLI's class and prep materials helped me pass the patent bar the first time.- Boston course 2008

    "PLI's class and prep materials helped me pass the patent bar the first time. Without them, and specifically the practice exams, I am sure I would have had to take the exam at least twice." -- Ryan Seguine, Cypress Semiconductor; Boston course 2008

  • I passed the Patent Bar today (first try) and it's without a doubt thanks to the excellent materials from PLI. - homestudy course 2008

    "I passed the Patent Bar today (first try) and it's without a doubt thanks to the excellent materials from PLI. I've been an engineer for quite a while now and I wasn't sure I could get a handle on 3000+ pages of legal mumbo-jumbo (called the MPEP...). I took the home-study course (2008) and it simply drilled all the information I needed into my brain: most test questions were very similar to the questions I practiced. All the key phrases (including the favorite PTO ways to trick test-takers) become clear and you will quickly zero in on the right answer. Take no short-cuts and follow the course exactly as intended. Once you're done with the study guide, use the software to practice questions and exams again and again until you have seen every question there is and score, say, 96% on the old exams. Trust the course, trust PLI and you will pass." -- Otto Steinbusch; homestudy course 2008

  • This course is excellent. - homestudy course 2008

  • PLI's Patent Bar Review was fantastic! - University of Miami; homestudy course 2008

    "PLI's Patent Bar Review was fantastic! I passed the Patent Bar on my first shot, and I couldn't have done it without them." -- Arthur Weaver, University of Miami; homestudy course 2008

  • I can say that this was a very good overview of the MPEP and great preparation for the Patent Bar. - New York course fall 2008

    "As a former examiner and practicing attorney, I can say that this was a very good overview of the MPEP and great preparation for the Patent Bar." -- David Kim, Armstrong Teasdale LLP; New York course fall 2008

  • Firstly, I would like to say thank you for your support and assistance in helping me to pass the patent bar. - Seattle University School of Law; Houston course 2008

    "Firstly, I would like to say thank you for your support and assistance in helping me to pass the patent bar. Your prompt replies included helpful and accurate information and provided the support that I needed to maintain momentum and to go into the exam with sufficient knowledge and preparation. You class surpassed my every expectation and I hope to recruit future students for PLI at any opportunity." -- Justen Fauth, Seattle University School of Law; Houston course 2008

  • I am writing to thank you so much for helping me in preparation for the PTO exam! - Northwestern Polytechnic University; homestudy course 2008

    "I am writing to thank you so much for helping me in preparation for the PTO exam! I am very happy to let you know that I passed the PTO exam on the 1st try! I couldn't pass the exam without taking the PLI class. I was planning to study on my own, but I was so frustrated since I was an engineer with no training in law at all, and I felt great difficulty in preparing for the exam. The PLI class greatly helped me to understand the key points and guided me step by step to pass the exam. I would like to especially thank you for your quick and detailed responses to my questions! I would like to express my sincere gratitude for your help and I would highly recommend the PLI class to anyone I know." -- Yi Sun Wilkinson, Ph.D. in Engineering and instructor in Electrical Engineering at Northwestern Polytechnic University; homestudy course 2008

  • The PLI course is well tailored to the task of passing the patent bar. - Suffolk University Law School; Boston course summer 2008

    "The PLI course is well tailored to the task of passing the patent bar. I took the PRG home study course and failed, then subsequently passed with the PLI course. Let's not kid ourselves. Becoming a proficient patent prosecutor is an art form that develops over many years. The PRG course is not commensurate in scope with the task of passing the bar. It attempts to do what can only realistically be done with years of practice. By overloading the student with a ridiculous amount of extraneous detail you will likely not achieve either goal. You have to walk before you run! Pass the bar first with PLI." -- Robert Penchuk, Suffolk University Law School; Boston course summer 2008

  • The materials are top-notch and the instructors break down the MPEP to a manageable and understandable level. - Chicago summer 2008 course

    "The materials are top-notch and the instructors break down the MPEP to a manageable and understandable level. Why choose another course when everything you need is provided by PLI to get you through the Patent Bar." -- Taffie N. Jones, Indiana University School of Law - Indianapolis ; Chicago summer 2008 course

  • Great course - Chicago summer 2008 course

    "Great course; Well worth my time!" - Arnold Gum, Qualcomm and University of San Diego School of Law; Chicago summer 2008 course

  • I am grateful for this class and the opportunity to attend. - Chicago summer 2008 course

    "I am grateful for this class and the opportunity to attend. PLI takes an enormous amount of material and creates a manageable approach to obtaining success." -- Zachary King, John Marshall Law School; Chicago summer 2008 course

  • This is the best course I have been to for the Patent Bar. - Chicago summer 2008 course

    "This is the best course I have been to for the Patent Bar. The live course with the total immersion is well worth the time and investment." -- Jeff Sargent, Northern Kentucky University College of Law; Chicago summer 2008 course

  • The PLI Patent Bar Review presents complex material in an organized and logical format. - Franklin Pierce Law Center; Boston course 2008

    "The PLI Patent Bar Review presents complex material in an organized and logical format. John White does it right! Clarity, precision and targeted instruction distinguishes PLI from the competition." -- Stanley P. Kowalski, J.D., Ph.D., Assistant Clinical Professor of Law and Director, International Technology Transfer Institute, Franklin Pierce Law Center; Boston course 2008

  • PLI is the way to go to prepare for this exam! - Southern California Course 2008

    "PLI is the way to go to prepare for this exam!" - Claudia Hetzer, Townsend and Townsend and Crew; Southern California Course 2008

  • The PLI course does a fantastic job of presenting otherwise dry material in an engaging fashion with relevant stories and humor. - Southern California course 2008

    "The PLI course does a fantastic job of presenting otherwise dry material in an engaging fashion with relevant stories and humor. Where other course merely read from the MPEP, PLI provides insight into the actual meaning behind the content of the MPEP. The result: a solid set of material that aids in your understanding and in your retention of the information most pertinent for the patent bar exam. These guys really know their material and want YOU to succeed." -- Nicholas Witchey, Ph.D. Physics; Southern California course 2008

  • Took the exam today and passed! - New York course 2008.

    "Took the exam today and passed! The course mapped out a winning strategy of what to study, how to study it and how to organize it. I could not have done it on my own." -- Patricia Werschulz, Rutgers School of Law - Newark; New York course 2008.

  • Delightfully elucidating. - Southern California course 2008

    "Delightfully elucidating." -- Merle Sogge, Concord Law School; Southern California course 2008

  • John and Gene have a talent for making patent law interesting and entertaining. - Boston course 2008

    "John and Gene have a talent for making patent law interesting and entertaining. A rare gift, to say the least." -- Brendan Jones, Foley Hoag LLP; Boston course 2008

  • I would recommend this class for everyone. - Boston course 2008

    "I would recommend this class for everyone. The scope of material is quite horrifying, but this course makes it much easier to handle" -- Dave Martell, Drexel University College of Law; Boston course 2008

  • I was not sure how useful the course would be going in -- but coming out of it, I see that it was essential. - Boston course 2008

    "I was not sure how useful the course would be going in -- but coming out of it, I see that it was essential." Daryl Achilles, Robins Kaplan Miller & Ciresi; Boston course 2008

  • I passed the patent bar exam yesterday! - Willamette University Law School (incoming 1L); Houston course 2008

    "I passed the patent bar exam yesterday! The study materials and review course were instrumental in gaining an understanding of the material, as I've done no patent prosecution work and have no law school experience (I'm starting next month)." - Carrie Yuelling, Willamette University Law School (incoming 1L); Houston course 2008

  • The course material creates a logical and understandable pathway through rather dry material. - New York course Fall 2008

    “The course material creates a logical and understandable pathway through rather dry material.” Domingos J. Silva, Drinker Biddle; New York course Fall 2008

  • I PASSED ON THE FIRST TRY!! - homestudy course 2008

    "I PASSED ON THE FIRST TRY!! Thanks you so much for your terrific course. It was worth every penny." S. Jane Mitchell, Jaudon & Avery LLP; homestudy course 2008

  • John White was an AMAZING speaker -- and teacher. - Chicago summer 2007 course

    "John White was an AMAZING speaker -- and teacher. I learned so much from the class….I really appreciated PLI's help in getting me through the bar; had I not taken the class…, I'm sure I would have spent many many more hours studying or I would not have passed." - Rebecca Crandall, Coats and Bennett, PLLC; Chicago summer 2007 course